Jane Austen: Beyond The Big Four | Adult Learning Series

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Fans of Jane Austen—and there are many—and scholars of Austen—also many—are most familiar with the four novels Austen published in her lifetime:  Sense And Sensibility (1811), Pride And Prejudice (1813), Mansfield Park (1814), and Emma (1816).

In this seminar, we will read and discuss two novels not published until after Austen’s death in 1817—Northanger Abbey(1818) and the less well-known Lady Susan, which was not published until 1871, over half a century after Austen’s death. These novels, which include many of the kinds of characters and situations we see in Austen’s better-known works, also show Austen in an interesting new light.

Here are the topics of the four seminar sessions:

Tuesday, March 12thNorthanger Abbey

Tuesday March 26thNorthanger Abbey

Tuesday April 9thNorthanger Abbey, Lady Susan

Tuesday April 23rd:  Lady Susan

We have limited space for this series– if interested, please email Adult Programs Manager, Charlie McMahon, at mcmahon@pequotlibrary.org

Image: Pequot Library Special Collections


March 12
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Event Categories:


Room Location
Wright Classroom