720 Pequot Avenue  Southport, CT 06890-1496  |  203.259.0346

Pequot Library

Bringing Literature, Music, Art, Science &
the Humanities to our Community

Susan Ei
Children's Librarian
(203) 259-0346 ext. 18
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

Subscribe to eNewsletter

Upcoming Events

View the full Children's Calendar for June, July and August

Shakespeare for Kids--All's Well That Ends Well
Tues., June 16
4:00 - 5:00pm
for grades school through middle school

Annual Potluck Supper, Concert & Campout
Friday, June 19
Dinner: 6:30pm; Music begins at 7:15pm

Summer Reading Program for Kids
Program runs from Mon., June 22 through Monday, Aug. 24
Signup begins June 1 in the Library

Field Trip to "Shakespeare on the Sound's" All's Well That Ends Well
Wed., June 24
7:30pm in Rowayton's Pinkney Park
(Child pre-performance show at 6:30pm in their children's tent)

Engineering for Kids - Heroes Week Summer Camp
Mon., June 22 - Fri., June 26
1:00 - 4:00pm
for ages 8 - 12

Meet our Local Heroes:

Meet Fire Chief Al
Tues., June 23
4:00 - 5:00p

Meet Ruger, the K-9 Police Dog and Officer Wells
Tues., June 30
4:00 - 5:00pm

Community Heroes Contest
Mon., June 22 - Thurs., Sept. 10
for ages 7+

Cape-making Workshop
Thurs., June 25
11:00am - 12:00pm
for ages 5+ with parent
Registration required

Kids' Art Workshops--4-Day Intensive: Nature in Your Community
Mon., June 29-Thurs, July 2
Sign up for:
9:00am - 12pm   Plein Air Art (2-D Art) OR
1:00pm - 4:00pm   3-D Nature-inspired Art OR
9:00am - 4:00pm  BOTH
for ages 6-8 & 9-12

Beat the Heat Drop-in Storytime
Tuesdays: June 30; July 7, 14, 21, 28

Kids Knit! Moms Welcome!
Every Tuesday & Thursday from June 30 - July 28
Every other Tuesday: Sept. 8, 22; Oct. 6, 20; Nov. 3, 17; Dec. 1, 15
4:00pm - 5:00pm
for 4th graders & up

Annual 4th of July Bike Parade & Lawn Games
Saturday, July 4
10:00am

Aviation Heroes Workshop: 4-Day Intensive
Tues., July 7 - Fri., July 10
1:00pm - 4:00pm
for ages 9+

Dynamic Decoupage Day
Wed., July 15
4:00pm
for ages 5+ with parent
Registration required

Dynamic Duct Tape Day
Wed., July 22
4:00 - 5:00pm
for ages 6+
Registration required

Beat the Heat Water Games on the Great Lawn
Thurs., Aug. 20
4:00 - 5:00pm
for young children

Babes on a Blanket (0 - 12 months)
Thursdays: Sept. 17, 24; Oct. 1, 8, 15, 22, 29; Nov. 5, 12, 19
11:00am - 11:45am

Wiggle Ones (12 - 24 months, walkers)
Wednesdays:
Sept. 16, 23, 30; Oct. 7, 14, 21, 28; Nov. 4, 11, 18
10:30am - 11:00am
Registration required

Wee People ( 24 - 36 months)
Tuesdays: Sept. 15, 22, 29; Oct. 6, 13, 20, 27; Nov. 3, 10, 17
10:30am - 11:00am
Registration required


Scrabble Club
Wednesdays: Sept.16, 23, 30; Oct. 7, 14, 21, 28; Nov. 4, 11, 18; Dec. 2, 9, 16
4:30 - 5:30pm
Grades 4 - 8

3 to 5 Beehive (3 - 5 year olds)
Thursdays: Sept. 17, 24; Oct. 1, 8, 15, 22, 29; Nov. 5, 12, 19
10:15am - 10:45am

"Let's Lego" Afternoons
Thursdays: Sept. 17; Oct. 15; Nov. 12; Dec. 10
4:15pm - 5:15pm

Meet Our Local Heroes from the Community
Thursday, September 17
5:30pm - 7:00pm

Build a Dr. Seuss "Sneetch Machine"--a Community Service Project
Friday, September 18
4:00pm - 6:30pm

Back-to-School Jigsaw Puzzle Speed-o-rama Competition
Friday, September 25
4:00pm - 5:!5pm
For grades 1 - 6
Registration required

The Barclay Classes--Dance and Etiquette Lessons
Ten Tuesday afternoons & early evenings (October through May)
for 3rd - 7th graders

Catch a Classic and a Slice Family Book Club:
Percy Jackson & the Olympians Series

Wednesdays: Oct. 7; Nov. 11. Dec. 16; Jan. 20; Feb. 24
for grade schoolers
Registration required
5:30pm - 6:30 pm

Fireside Tales - for Fathers and Kids
Mondays: November 2, 9, 16
7:00pm - 8:00pm

French for Three to Five-Year-Olds
Mondays at 2pm
January 6, 13, 27; February 3, 10, 24; March 3, 10, 2014